Home

Daily Poem – Forgotten Planet

July 30, 2006

Forgotten Planet

Forgotten Planet
Doug Dorph
I ask my daughter to name the planets.
“Venus …Mars …and Plunis!” she says.
When I was six or seven my father
woke me in the middle of the night.
We went down to the playground and lay
on our backs on the concrete looking up
for the meteors the tv said would shower.

I don’t remember any meteors. I remember
my back pressed to the planet Earth,
…for the complete poem, go to:
http://www.loc.gov/poetry/180/158.html
Primary Source:
http://www.loc.gov/poetry/180/

Leave a Reply

