Home

Daily Poem – La Belle Dame Sans Merci

August 31, 2014

La Belle Dame Sans Merci
by John Keats 1819

I saw pale kings and princes too,
Pale warriors, death-pale were they all;
They cried – ‘La Belle Dame sans Merci
Hath thee in thrall!’

I saw their starved lips in the gloam,
With horrid warning gaped wide,
And I awoke and found me here,
On the cold hill’s side.

And this is why I sojourn here
Alone and palely loitering,
Though the sedge is withered from the lake,
And no birds sing.

Full and original version

Leave a Reply

