Home

Daily Poem – Cookin It

October 21, 2014

Cookin’ It by Sue Staats

Oh yeah, I’ll make you a man in my kitchen
buckle your blueberries, slump your apples,
cream your butter and sugar,
knead your dough,
steam your windows with my oven heat.

Bet your life I’ll poach your pears,
pickle your persimmons, foster your bananas,
cobble your peaches, marmalade your oranges
clafouti your cherries to a parlez-vous

You’ll be cross-eyed, crumb-topped
crimped, crisped, crusted, folded,
punched, proofed and risen before I’m done.

Get over here now.
My pan dowdy’s hot, and there’s cream.

Don’t keep me waiting.

Leave a Reply

