Daily Poem – At the Breakfast Table

Pouring himself a second cup
Sits there without a second thought
Continues to read, to see what’s up
The newspaper politics, the column that’s hot

I hold his shirt that I have pressed
He takes no notice that I’m distressed
Does he know I’m in the room?
Oblivious! Geez..! The big baboon!

Our anniversary has come, it’s here today
The clod has forgotten our special day!!
How could he forget?… I think inside,..
The day we became a groom and bride?!!

I had fixed my hair and made my face
I thought we’d go out to some nice place
To celebrate. But what a crock!
The old guy has just gone to pot!

I look around for the rolling pin
To whack him where his hair is thin
He puts the morning paper down
His grin becomes a puzzled frown

“What the he___ is the matter with you??”
“And what the h___ did you plan to do?”
I have these tickets, a trip for two!!
To show you how I still Love You!!”

In an instant, he’s become so handsome
Anniversary trip? well…..HERE I COME!!
It seems this man is still worth keeping
My cup overflows….IN FACT IT’S HEAPING!!

At the Breakfast Table was written by poet Carrie Richards

Leave a comment